Freddie’s nutrition & dietetic group session…


So as I’ve explained before Freddie is allergic to the protein in cows milk, we found this out at 9 weeks and have since had him on nutramigen. Yesterday we were asked to attend a group session lead by a pedriatric nutritionist to learn more about the allergy that Freddie has and what foods to give him when we are ready for weaning.

The last time I was in a group session like this was our antenatal classes during my pregnancy, so to be in a room with mothers, fathers and there babies was quite weird. I couldn’t help but think how anoying it must be to put on a presentation and try raising your voice for everyone to hear you while there are babies crying, babies going off for a bum change or mums bouncing and swaying in the corner to try settle their baby, it would really put me off. 

To start the session we had to go round the circle, tell everyone our name, babies name, the symptoms that led us to them being diognosed, babies age and what milk they have been put on. I hateeee these introductions as I’m just not a very confident person, as soon as it’s my turn my mind goes blank, I can’t even think of my name and I feel my face going the colour of a beetroot 🙈

The lady running the group went on to do a presentation about weaning a baby with a cows milk deficiency, when to start weaning, what foods to start with, what they can and can’t have and when to start introducing little amounts of milk. 

I was advised that as Freddie it now over 17 weeks, can hold his head up, watching us eat, got his fists in his mouth all the time, finishing his bottle all in one then wanting more it is time to think about weaning. Apparently it is good to introduce foods to babies that already has an allergy, earlier rather than later so they are less likely to form anymore allergies. 

I have decided to take the dietritions advice and start Freddie on baby rice and puréed foods that don’t contain milk, my reason for this is while at the group meeting a lot of mums said their babies have started going off their milk (it stinks and tastes revolting) so I want to make sure I find alternatives for Freddie incase this happens. 


The session went on for over an hour and to be honest I walked in there not knowing what to expect but I really enjoyed it and found it so helpful. The lady that was running the group couldn’t stress enough that anything we need she is on the other end of the phone which I think always helps when your learning about something you haven’t got a clue about.

Freddie and a little girl next to him were the only babies that didn’t cry throughout the session so daddy will be buying him a new toy for being such a god boy 💙

I can’t get over the fact my boy can’t even eat wotsits 😥 

Please let me know if you have any experience in the same allergy as I don’t think you can ever know too much and it’s good to share food ideas, stories and experiences. If your like me and new to this cows milk protein allergy, follow us on our journey and we will learn together.

Friday tomorrow 🙋🏽🍸 I hope you all have a lovely weekend planned 

Much loveage Loz x

Leave a Reply

